Welcome to my blog!

Thank you for visiting my recently conceived blog!

I am studying for a PhD at the University of Leeds and in collaboration with Phoenix Dance Theatre, the research is concerned with dance archives, the limitations of the knowledge which they represent and aims to investigate how gaps in knowledge can be overcome by re-considering the archive of an ephemeral art form.

I consider the keywords attributed to my research to be: archives, documentation, dance, knowledge and embodiment.

I hope that this blog will exist as a multi-functional tool, documenting my research process as a diary for myself and for others to engage with as they so wish. I hope you will find something of interest, and if you do please let me know! I intend to post thoughts and questions related to my research whilst also keeping a log of my readings and writings throughout the process.

To find out more about me and my research please visit the pages as listed on the menu above.

About Laura Griffiths

I am a PhD Research student at the University of Leeds, currently in the second year of my research, a Collaborative Doctoral Award (CDA) funded by the Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC). My programme of study is unique in that I have a collaborative research partner- Phoenix Dance Theatre, a contemporary repertory company based in Leeds. I have a background in Dance Studies, with a BA (Hons) and an MA from the University of Surrey. I became interested in archval dance practice after my role within the Pioneer Women: early British modern dancers project at the National Resource Centre for Dance, University of Surrey (2008-2010) http://www.surrey.ac.uk/library/nrcd/projects/pioneer/index.htm. The reserach and archiving I undertook during this project made me curious about what materials we archive and why in relation to dance. It also raised some interesting questions with regards to how dance archives are organised and therefore interpreted by the historian/researcher. Following my first year of study, my PhD reserach has now taken me in a more philosophical direction through both archival theories and concepts of embodiment.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

